About the club

Wellington Rowing Club is one of the premier rowing clubs in New Zealand. Situated on the Wellington Waterfront, it is also one of the most sought after pieces of real estate in the city.

We have been a part of Wellington for over 100 years. The club has a fine reputation in the rowing community and has produced many international oarsmen and oarswomen, including Olympic and World Championship gold.

The club is always on the look out for new rowers, coxswains and coaches.

Officers of the Wellington Rowing Club

Patron: Andy Foster (Mayor of Wellington)

President: Chris Fry

Vice President: Vacant

Secretary: Tracey Bates

Safety Officer: Nina Brown

Club Captain: Allan Mills 

Vice Captain: Jo-Anne Stokes

Treasurer: Max Newton


Richard May

Nina Barton

Tom Walsh 

Mary Jane McCarthy 

Matthew Kenney

David Groves

Louise Lennard

Richard Cunningham


Open MenChris Jones
Open WomenChris Jones
Novice WomenChris Jones
Novice MenChris Jones

Dick Joyce

Nina Brown

Laurie Counsel

Richard May

CorporateMaria Chandler


St Pats CollegeMary Jane McCarthy 
Onslow CollegeLouise Lennard
St Marys CollegeDavid Groves
Samuel Marsden CollegiateMarsden Commitee Member 
Victoria UniversityTom Walsh, VicRowing

Life Members

J.E. CollinTerry McCarthy
Deidre BurkePeter Delaney
Warrick FowlieDave Martin
Bill GraceLaurie Counsell
Tom JustLaws (Craig) Lawson
Joe O'NeillSheryn Follero (nee Williams)
Dick JoyceJohn Hunter
Graham Shaw

Michael Grace

Huw Mitchell